Donnerstag, 24.04.2014 12°C

Schnellsuche

Directly book hotel / holiday home:

Accomodation

Logo Lübeck Travemünde Marketing

Anzeige

 

Service

Travemünde today

In recent years, Travemünde has undergone a visible transformation. The sanatorium was renovated and today is home to a luxury hotel with spa centre. “Front Row” street along the Trave is a pedestrian zone in the summer, with numerous cafés and a unique view of the giant ferries passing by just a few metres away. On the Priwall peninsula a vacation centre is being developed, with holiday villages, hotels and shops.

Despite all this, the place retains its unique atmosphere. The 100-year-old promenade, the large Brügmann gardens directly adjacent to the sea, the sports ports, sailing docks and the casino give the location more distinctive character than the newer bathing resorts along the coast.

Scandinavia Quay, the largest terminal of the Lübeck ports, is located upstream on the Trave and is one of the most important ro-ro and ferry ports in the world. 22 million tons of goods are handled here every year. As many as 13 large ships moor each day, making for a fast connection between northern and eastern Europe.

Select date of arrival

Metanavigation / Stadtporträt deu
Datum
Samstag, 22.07.2017
Temperatur
21°C

Schnellnavigation / Service

Schnellsuche

Anzeige

 

Service

Stadtporträt

Travemünde heute

Travemünde hat in den vergangenen Jahren einen deutlich sichtbaren Wandel erlebt. Das Kurhaus wurde saniert und beherbergt heute ein Luxus-Hotel mit Spa-Ressort. Die Straße „Vorderreihe“ an der Trave ist im Sommer eine Fußgängerzone mit zahlreichen Cafés und einem einmaligen Blick auf die riesigen Fährschiffe, die nur wenige Meter entfernt vorbei ziehen. Auf der Halbinsel Priwall entsteht ein Zentrum mit Feriendörfern, Hotels und Geschäften.

Seinen einmaligen Flair hat der Ort dennoch behalten: Die 100 Jahre alte Promenade, der große Brügmanngarten direkt am Meer, die Sportboothäfen und Segelstationen und das Casino unterscheiden den Ort von neuen Bädern entlang der Küste.

Traveaufwärts liegt der Skandinavienkai, das größte Terminal der Lübecker Häfen und einer der bedeutensten RoRo- und Fährhäfen der Welt. Hier werden 22 Millionen Tonnen Güter im Jahr umgeschlagen. Bis zu 13 große Schiffe machen hier am Tag fest und sorgen für eine schnelle Verbindung mit Nord- und Osteuropa.