Metanavigation / Stadtporträt deu
Datum
Freitag, 29.08.2014
Temperatur
17°C
Schriftgröße ändern

Schnellnavigation / Service

Schnellsuche

Directly book hotel / holiday home:

Accomodation

Logo Lübeck Travemünde Marketing

Anzeige

 

Service

History

Travemünde dates back to 1187. From its earliest days, it was a fishing settlement coveted by its large neighbour, Lübeck. In 1226 the Hanseatic inhabitants secured essential rights in a letter of imperial immediacy from Frederick II. At this time Priwall also became part of Travemünde’s administrative jurisdiction. In 1329, Lübeck purchased the settlement and the whole tract of land at the mouth of the Trave for 1,060 Lübeck Marks, thus safeguarding its important harbour against burdensome tolls imposed by others. In 1913 the town of Travemünde was incorporated into the municipality of Lübeck and has been a district of the Hanseatic city ever since.
Since 1539, a lighthouse 39 metres high has guided ships towards Lübeck. Today, this is a museum with many exhibits reflecting the town’s long shipping history.

In 1802, Travemünde became the third location in Germany to be granted official status as a seaside resort. Tourism developed rapidly thereafter, and a casino continues to provide entertainment for prosperous north Germans on their visits to the Baltic. In 1803, seaside swimming facilities were built, and bathing machines and canopied beach chairs soon took over the coast. A museum devoted to the history and development of bathing culture was opened in the old town some years ago.

The early 1950s saw the rise of the town as a ferry port. Passenger ferry routes to Scandinavia were established first. In just 50 years, the Scandinavia Quay developed into the largest German Baltic port with scheduled routes to Sweden, Finland, Denmark, Norway, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Russia. Today, thanks to the wharf in Travemünde, Lübeck is one of the largest ferry ports in Europe.

Select date of arrival

Metanavigation / Stadtporträt deu
Datum
Freitag, 20.01.2017
Temperatur
3°C

Schnellnavigation / Service

Schnellsuche

Anzeige

 

Service

Stadtporträt

Die Geschichte

Gegründet wurde Travemünde bereits 1187. Von Anfang an war die Fischersiedlung beim großen Nachbarn Lübeck begehrt. Bereits 1226 hatten sich die Hanseaten im Reichsfreiheitsbrief von Kaiser Friedrich II die entscheidenden Rechte gesichert. Damals kam auch der Priwall zu Travemünde. 1329 kaufte Lübeck die Siedlung und das komplette Gelände an der Travemündung für 1060 lübsche Mark und sicherten so ihren wichtigen Hafen gegen lästige Zölle durch Dritte. 1913 wurde die Stadt Travemünde nach Lübeck eingemeindet und ist seither ein Ortsteil der Hansestadt. Seit 1539 zeigte ein 39 Meter hoher Leuchtturm den Schiffen den Weg nach Lübeck. Er ist heute ein Museum mit vielen Exponaten aus der langen Schifffahrtsgeschichte des Ortes.

Im Jahr 1802 erhielt Travemünde als dritter Ort in Deutschland den Status „Seebad“. Der Tourismus entwickelte sich rasant: Eine Spielbank unterhält bis heute die gut betuchten Bürger aus Norddeutschland bei ihren Ausflügen an die Ostsee. 1803 wurde eine Seebadeanstalt gebaut, Badekarren und Strandkörbe eroberten die Küste. Ein Seebadmuseum in der Altstadt zeigt seit einigen Jahren die Geschichte der Badekultur.

Anfang der 1950er Jahre begann der Aufstieg als Fährhafen. Zuerst wurden Passagier-Fährverbindungen nach Skandinavien aufgebaut. In nur 50 Jahren entwickelte sich der Skandinavien-Kai zum größten deutschen Ostseehafen mit fahrplanmäßigen Schiffsabfahrten nach Schweden, Finnland, Dänemark, Norwegen, Estland, Lettland, Litauen und auch Russland. Heute ist Lübeck dank der Schiffsanleger in Travemünde der größte Fährschiffhafen Europas.